Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

Screenshots and Loss of time

l-hernandez
Active Member
Lucia H Member Since: Sep 27, 2018
1 of 7

Is it true that if you delete screenshots your time is completely lost? I have been deleting screenshots because of their annoyance, and I have worked 4 hours today and it only logged 40 min. This is extremely upsetting, and cause for me to get off this platform.

mtngigi
Community Guru
Virginia F Member Since: Feb 15, 2016
2 of 7

If you're new, you may want to read about how the time tracker works, including screen captures:

https://support.upwork.com/hc/en-us/articles/211064098-Log-Time-with-the-Upwork-Desktop-App-

aocumen
Moderator
Avery O Moderator Member Since: Nov 23, 2015
3 of 7

Hi Lucia, 

Deleting screen grabs on your Work Diary will delete the time logged and this deleted time will not be billed to your client. If you do not feel comfortable that screenshots are being taken while you complete your projects, I would recommend that you work on fixed-price contracts instead. Here's a help article to know the difference between hourly and fixed-price contracts. 

You may also want to read on the resources we compiled here for more information on working on Upwork.


~ Avery
Upwork
prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
4 of 7

You said you deleted screenshots due to their annoyance.

 

Respectfully, may I ask:

Why do you feel that screenshots depicting your work on behalf of a client are "annoying"?

 

I am not trying to be critical. I am genuinely curious.

 

(And I am wondering if you don't realize all the controls you have over how screenshots are taken and what they show.)

yitwail
Community Guru
John K Member Since: Feb 17, 2015
5 of 7
Lucia, if screenshots annoy you, you can always ask the client to permit manual time. Then, there won’t be any screenshots. Of course, the hours will no longer be guaranteed so if the client disputes the time you enter manually, you won’t receive any payment, which might annoy you even more than having to submit to screenshots.
__________________________________________________
"No good deed goes unpunished." -- Clare Boothe Luce
martina_plaschka
Community Guru
Martina P Member Since: Jul 11, 2018
6 of 7

@Lucia H wrote:

Is it true that if you delete screenshots your time is completely lost? I have been deleting screenshots because of their annoyance, and I have worked 4 hours today and it only logged 40 min. This is extremely upsetting, and cause for me to get off this platform.


 You should not delete screen-shots, as they are proof for the client that you work on their task. Why would you ever delete them?

jmlaidlaw
Community Guru
Janean L Member Since: Apr 6, 2016
7 of 7

Once the screenshot has already been taken, the "annoyance value" has already been completed. The sound is gone and the pop-up in the corner of the screen has vanished. How does deleting a screenshot AFTER THE FACT reduce or eliminate annoyance? It seem to me that all that such efforts would do is to cause you wasted time and aggravation.

 

?? I don't understand. ??