🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Should I be worried about being scammed?
Page options
cicilyphillips
Community Member

Should I be worried about being scammed?

Hello, I am new to Upwork and I Submitted a proposal to a data entry position on Tuesday and now they have offered me the position. But it feels to good to be true. I had an interview via Google Hangouts. All my correspondance has been email and google hangouts. They are offering to buy all the equipment they want me to use (Mac Book and various software). Today they told me that they are sending a check for me to pay for the equipment and I need to deposit it into my account and then I will pay the retailer who will provide all the equipment. Then I asked why I had to receive the money and deposit to my account? Why not send the money directly to the retailer, this is the response:

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

He told me I will receive the money via fedex tomorrow and have to deposit within 24hrs. I am very worried this is a scam. I am new to this site and am not sure what should be expected. When I go to my profile the proposal is still in Active state, it has never moved to my contract section. As I am typing this out it sounds quite crazy. So it probably is a scam.

Also the employer just became a member of Upwork so there are no reviews or anything. The company is Oyster Property Group. I looked on their website and the person I am talking to is listed as a Board member. The letter of employment I received has the CEO and CFO's name/signature. Am I crazy to think this is legit. I will attach the offer letter.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
g_vasilevski
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Hi Cicily,

I can confirm the job post you are referring to was already removed and client's account addressed for violating Upwork ToS. Please take a look at the list of tips for recognizing fraudulent jobs Lena compiled and posted Here. Thank you.

~ Goran
Upwork

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7