🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Should I offer low rates to get first few...
Page options
jenkfreelance
Community Member

Should I offer low rates to get first few jobs and reviews?

Hello,

I am new to Upwork.

I have received a blow to my confidence as I have submitted approximately 30 proposals and have only received one job so far (which was not in my fields).

Would it be a good or bad idea to offer very low rates to try to get a few employers interested?
Or would this rather be a bad idea because they might then presume my services to be poor/cheap quality due to cheap rates?

I feel that most employers on Upwork are reluctant to choose someone with zero or one review, but how do I get reviews without winning jobs?

I appreciate any advice given.

Thankyou Jenny 

13 REPLIES 13
rusphp
Community Member

Try to replay on new job in 5-10 minutes. Or your dont get any job here. And dont change rate.

Thanks for the advice Andrey.

robin_hyman
Community Member

I am new to Upwork.

I have received a blow to my confidence as I have submitted approximately 30 proposals and have only received one job so far (which was not in my fields).

Would it be a good or bad idea to offer very low rates to try to get a few employers interested?
Or would this rather be a bad idea because they might then presume my services to be poor/cheap quality due to cheap rates?

I feel that most employers on Upwork are reluctant to choose someone with zero or one review, but how do I get reviews without winning jobs?

Hi Jenny,

Welcome to Upwork!  I also don't think you need to change your hourly rate.  You can still apply to jobs and lower your rate a bit.  Note I would avoid the $5 projects.  I know you are taking them on to get a few testimonials but those clients aren't the ones you want.  They are cheap and never satisfied.  Instead, use your portfolio to attract clients.  Make sure proposals are customized and address how your skills can solve the client's problem.