🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Signing a contract before an interview? W...
Page options
megan_fuchsel
Community Member

Signing a contract before an interview? What?

Hello, I’m relatively new to the game but I’m feeling disheartened with my search thus far. My first invitation was spammed out to 100 other candidates with a low budget and minimal detail on the project and this morning I was emailed a confidentiality and work agreement contract to be signed before I could speak to the editor and that priority is given to candidates that reply quickly. I gave them my email two days ago because they told me the editor could “furnish me with details.” Who signs a contract before being clear on what the expectations are? What kind of big-shot does this editor think they are anyway? I hope this isn’t common practice here. I replied to them on Upwork that I wasn’t comfortable signing anything until I am clear on what is expected of me and will not sign anything offsite.

Any suggestions on how to avoid this in the future? Should I report this client? Please tell me it gets better. 

12 REPLIES 12
prestonhunter
Community Member

A job invitation sent to over 100 people at once?

It sounds like you're a potential revenue source rather than a freelancer they want to pay money to.

You shouldn't worry too much about passing up a potential lucrative opportunity if you drop this.

As new as you are, it is unlikely that you will receive invitations that aren't from scammers. Once you gain more experience, then it is possible you will receive legitimate invitations, as many us more experienced freelancers do.

Sorry that I wasn’t clear, it’s been a rough day: the job I was invited to apply for that was sent to over 100 other profiles was different than the one that emailed me this morning. I submitted a proposal to the latter and that was the response I got.