🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Skeptical Job Post and Conduct
Page options
carlysteele
Community Member

Skeptical Job Post and Conduct

So I'm very new to Upwork. I just started submitting proposals this weekend. I came across an ad for a job that is in line with my experience. I sent a proposal and the person messaged me asking for my resume. I sent them my resume, to what I thought was their Upwork email address, and they proceeded to text me. 

The text was about how they need a marketing/personal assistant for a night club that has an "adult house" and to reply to the text with my phone number, address, etc. This obviously set off a red flag and I blocked their number immediately and reported the job posting on Upwork. However, I'm still left feeling very uneasy about all of this, as they now have my resume which does include personal information. Any suggestions on what to do from here? Looks like I can't get in contact with anyone directly on Upwork. 

7 REPLIES 7
carlysteele
Community Member

Furthermore, the area code on the phone number was NY, the business location was "in Michigan" and the Upwork profile says United States but in Central European Time. All that being said - what am I dealing with here? Attempt at fraud?

In the future, you can tell potential clients that your resume is available on your Upwork profile.  On the few occasions that I have sent a resume (I work for lawyers - they want a piece of paper in their hands), I remove all personal information except my name.

There are certainly red flags with the job you described.  As you are new, be sure to keep all communication with potential client on Upwork.  Flag the job post as fraud and then forget about it.  Not much else you can do at this point.

Please be sure that you read and understand the TOS as well as all the information geared towards new freelancers so you don't get caught up in something odd.

I have completed 156 jobs on Upwork.

No client has ever asked for my resumé.