🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Skype Interview, scam?
Page options
milano27
Community Member

Skype Interview, scam?

Hello,

I am new to Upwork.  I submitted a proposal to a job posting and received a message from the client asking for an interview time.  They asked me to interview on skype and it is set for tomorrow.  I did not know prior to their message that all communication was be done on Upwork.  Is this a scam?  The client  has the Upwork Plus Client badge.  This was the job **Edited for Community Guidelines**.

Also the reason i looked into scams on Upwork was because i found a similar job posting from the same location **Edited for Community Guidelines**.  The decsription is the same but the title has changed a little.

Is someone able to verify if this is a scam?

Thank you,

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
a_lipsey
Community Member

I am not sure if those are scams, but you  are not allowed to contact the client outside of Upwork until there is a contract. So tell them you need to do it through Upwork's call system and see what they say. 

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
a_lipsey
Community Member

I am not sure if those are scams, but you  are not allowed to contact the client outside of Upwork until there is a contract. So tell them you need to do it through Upwork's call system and see what they say. 

Thank you for the suggestion.  I have reached out to them and asked to do all of our communication on Upwork.  If i don't hear back from them any more how do i get my connects back? 

I have opened up a support ticket in regards to this, but i have not received even a confirmation email saying the ticket has been opened.  I guess ill just wait for now.  

Thanks again,

Hi Milan,

Connects are returned to the freelancer if a project is closed by the client without making a hire and if a job post has been removed by Upwork for a Terms of Service violation.

Thanks!

~Andrea
Upwork