🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Speaking language not found in drop down menu
Page options
roth_daniel
Community Member

Speaking language not found in drop down menu

Greetings all,

Hope this is the proper forum. Im new to Upwork and I am currently polishing up my profile.

I speak and write Belize Kriol and would like to add this detail to my profile, however the languge does not show up as a valid language. By extension, I understand Jamacian Patois (to a lesser degree) since they are quite similar. 

Kriol is indeed a language (not a dialect ) and would find it helpful to include this. Publications and other audio/media are available in Belize Kriol. I feel that if it was in the drop down menu, it would stand out more than having a potential client having to read my entire profile to find this out.

The language is spoken country-wide,as well as in the US (more Belizeans live in US than in Belize itself), Nicaragua, Panama and in the Columbian islands off of Nicaragua. 

Looking forward to any feedback.

Thanks in advance

Daniel

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

Just write it into your overview.

Are there (m)any jobs that call for that skill?

Edited to add:

Belize.jpg

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
petra_r
Community Member

Just write it into your overview.

Are there (m)any jobs that call for that skill?

Edited to add:

Belize.jpg

Thanks for the quick reply, Petra.

Currently it is in my overview, I just thought it would be more visible like the other languages are.

Regarding the demand, I can't say for certain it is a game-changer, but I do know native speakers of Belize Kriol can often express themselves better, and may feel less intimidated than in English, which usually is their second tongue. 

As being unique and setting yourself apart from the rest is encouraged here,  what better way than to have this as a skill. 

Just a reply to your edit,