cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Standard rates and shocked responses.

Dorothy H Member Since: Oct 25, 2016
1 of 11

Hi there,

I'm new to Upwork but have been working as a copywriter, both freelance and full-time for about 4 years. I am hoping to go completely freelance/remote and am giving Upwork a try.

I'm sure there are already a ton of threads on this...but a client asked me to give him my rate for a press release. I always stick to industry standard rates and have been a little shocked to see that some people expect less than 1 cent per word for a piece of writing.

I quoted my rate, which is mid-range according to the Editors Freelance Association. The response I got from the potential client was shock and then he tried to make me feel guility to charging too much (saying that I was charging more than someone's weekly wage. I live in LA and can assure you, $240 is not a week's wage). Is this par for the course on a site like Upwork? I don't want to lowball my rates as I see writing as a valuable skill that should be compensated accordingly.

The job called for intermediate level and hourly pricing. S

hould I just keep keeping on?

Thanks for any tips!!

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Toni K Member Since: Oct 12, 2016
2 of 11

Hi Dorothy,