🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Still haven't got my first job
Page options
9cad714b
Community Member

Still haven't got my first job

I have a lot of experience in a lot of areas but I am having trouble getting my first job.

Could someone please check my profile to make sure it looks legit?  https://www.upwork.com/freelancers/~01e3ba2560bb722e59

18 REPLIES 18
kingconsulting
Community Member

Your profile looks very good! For administrative type work, you seem qualified at first glance!  Just a few things I might add:

• Add how many Words Per Minute you type, and your accuracy. 
  • Have you taken any shorthand, transcription, or stenography courses? Even if it's not a certificate or a college degree, if you've taken some general courses, you may want to add those details. Also, that includes any advanced Excel courses, which you should find easily online. 
  • Your $3 seems very low. Cheap is good, but that's practically giving away work. It makes me feel suspicious. Canada's minimum wage is $13+, right? Consider upping your rate to something like $9/hour and see if that changes any algorithms on the site.  Or, hell, say something like $14/hour + 50% discount for first time clients and projects.
  • Consider crafting an Upwork portfolio with a package deal. Maybe something like $150/week for 10 hours worth of virtual admin services.
  • Consider adding "report writing, editing, and research" to your list of skills. 

Trolls some other freelancer profiles that do the same kind of stuff you do. I looked up "Upwork Dispatchers" and found this person...she has 100+ jobs under her belt. See what she puts on her profile and see if you can do something similar. Her rate appears to be about $12/hour. 

https://www.upwork.com/freelancers/~01f25fddbb0c09b917

Wow, that's awesome and detailed feedback. Thank you so much, Christine! 👍

tinahkivumbi
Community Member