🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Student living and working in France
Page options
4ef2163f
Community Member

Student living and working in France

Hello, 

I'm a student in France who just completed an internship for my master's program. My boss is under the auto-entrepreneur status in France and wishes to pay me through UpWork instead of through bank transfer, which I find strange. He explained that it was to have a receipt of the transaction for his taxes.

My status in France is just a student. I'm not registered as an auto-entrepreneur and I'm wondering if I will have problems when I must declare the money I earned for my internship. Is this going to make things more complicated for me? 

Jordan

8 REPLIES 8
sjbercot
Community Member

With your student visa (VLS-TS or something?) you can usually work up to 964 hours/year. I don't know of any particular restrictions as far as Upwork.

I'm actually on a visa vie privee/familliale but currently not working and just doing my master's. The money my boss would pay me for the internship is less than a thousand euros, and it was only 2 months of work. I'm hoping that this is too small an amount to bother the French government. 

I'm going to demand French nationality soon and I just want everything concerning my taxes to be perfect. 

I'm pretty sure you can work even full time with that visa, so yeah. Personally, I declared everything because we pay VAT on Upwork, so I assumed it was getting reported to someone somewhere and I didn't want trouble later (also getting my citizenship). They're not really sure what to call my income, but at least they know about it!

Hello, this is exactly what I was looking for. By the way I am a student in france, I want too to declare my gains but I don't really know how I should proceed! Which Statut should I make and how to declare them. So if you could tell me how this works I'll be greatfull. Thank you