🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Sudden Loss of Rising Talent Status; Prof...
Page options
kingside
Community Member

Sudden Loss of Rising Talent Status; Profile Completeness

Hi everyone,

I had Rising Talent status yesterday, but this morning Upwork dropped my profile completeness to only 90% because I don't have any linked social media accounts.  Consequently, I lost my Rising Talent status, which, since I'm new to Upwork, was a competitive advantage. 

I'm in the accounting field.  I simply won't link my professional life to Facebook or Twitter; the reasons for this should be self-evident for anyone watching the news.  Interestingly enough, LinkedIn (which makes some sense) isn't even an option.

Any similar experiences?  Any way around this?  

Thanks in advance,

Tommy

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hello Tommy,

You don't need to link your social account in order to have a 100% complete profile. How you complete your profile is up to you. You may check these combinations of qualifications listed in this article to achieve a 100% complete profile. Thank you!

Untitled

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
yitwail
Community Member

Tommy, Upwork doesn't publicly display any linked social media accounts in the profile to the best of my knowledge, so unless you're concerned that the links will be somehow leaked or stolen, I don't see any downside to providing them. Think about it, the last thing Upwork wants to do is facilitate contacting freelancers outside of Upwork.

Hi John, thank you very much for the feedback!

I've made a very reasonable business decision to not connect my commercial activities with Facebook or Twitter.  It's been my policy since I started my company.  I'm simply confused as to why this makes my profile less complete today than it was just yesterday?  Moreover, if there's no public identification with the social media profiles, what does Upwork get out of requiring the information? 

I'm just trying to understand; thanks again for the info.