🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Suspicious Client asking for address
Page options
345a0269
Community Member

Suspicious Client asking for address

Hello! I am very new to Upwork so I was excited when I got my first response. The Client wanted me to send my personal email which I did not mind doing. I have multiple emails, so I gave the email I use the least. The client, in the email, asked for my address for a "google verification" and to use google directories using my account. They said they were with a small marketing business. I did not give address information but instead asked for information about the company: the name of the company, when it was founded, what they do, etc. And sent another message saying that I was uncomfortable with such a request. They have not responded to my messages yet but I think I made a good call but I wanted a second opinion. What is this "google verification" for businesses that they speak of? Is it completely made up? They didn't ask for bank info or anything of that sort. I wouldn't know why they want my address and how it could be used maliciously. 

Thanks! 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
AveryO
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Jordann, 

It sounds a little shady. Here are some Google help articles about account verification, and verifying your/a local business listing. It sounds like the clients want to do the latter, and I would recommend that you do not comply with this request. Clients normally don't need this information and you can share with them your general location if that's a need. But, sharing your personal address is not something you should provide.

I highly recommend that you read up on the "Safety First!" section of the freelancer resources we have compiled, and these tips for avoiding questionable jobs for more information about working safely through Upwork.

~ Avery
Upwork

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
AveryO
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Jordann,