🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Testing the recharge function of an app?
Page options
a6f94a7a
Community Member

Testing the recharge function of an app?

This is my first posting because I'm not sure if a person is trying to scam me or not. I guess when you're in doubt, it's probably a scam, but I'm hoping someone more experienced with QA testing can help me. I recently (today) signed up to work with a person who said they need an Apple App Tester, and so far they've asked me to download the app, login with the email and password they provided me with, and now want me to unlink my apple ID and put in their virtual card dedicated to app testing for them. It seems fishy but I'm not sure if "testing a recharge function" is a normal part of QA or not?   Can someone please advise?  I feel like an idiot even asking but I'm a newbie trying to break into tech and QA and I don't want to mess up. 

18 REPLIES 18
fengguochuan
Community Member

if only input the info into the Apple store, that's ok, because you can login out.

Also check the job history of the client and the comments he gets.

d86bc41f
Community Member

Hi,

I came across same thing. Could you share what was your experience later? Did you done the testing?

Any updates about this job? I came across the same thing

Yes, upwork out the contract on hold (I can only assume because it seemed weird to them too) and I never got paid for the work I did. It's a tough lesson but as a new person I thought anyone who posted a job on here was safe to work with and they are not. If you come across a very similar post, don't answer it, just keep moving! I'm glad Upwork paused the contract for me tho. I felt a little safer. 

I receive these job offers each day and when I search for job with "mobile app development" in upwork, most of the jobs are from this scammer.

This is a scam for sure and still Upwork is not taking any action against these scam clients.