🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » This seems like a shady contract—what should ...
Page options
acaylor
Community Member

This seems like a shady contract—what should I do?

Hi!

I am new to Upwork, and I applied for **Edited for community guidelines**. I got a message asking for my email address, which I provided, I received this email on May 30th:

**Edited for community guidelines**

The email came with a contract that seems shady to me. (The file is attached.) It would make me agree to work for them without knowing what work I am agreeing to do. The job posting was about editing but if I signed the contract I would agree to both write and edit. There was no mention of how much I would be paid or a way to end the contract. It also said, "The Editor agrees not to circulate, discuss or disclose any information about the Work to any third party, or any websites (including Upwork), or to any persons or use it for any commercial purposes." which sounds like it could be used to get around Upwork's Terms of Service. I couldn't find their company online, and they didn't give an actual address—just the city. 
All of this, and the email's mention that those who respond first would be given priority and it's attempt to get me to not share the email despite the fact I never agreed or signed anything, makes me think that this user is trying to get new freelancers to work for them for free. (The job post was targeted at entry level freelancers.) I wanted to report them, but the job posting has gone down and I can't find a "flag as inappropriate" button in my proposal section. The Upwork help bot directed me here.
What can I do? Should I report them? What do I need to do to do that?
8 REPLIES 8
prestonhunter
Community Member

This is just boilerplate. They people who sent you this probably didn't even read it.

Why do you think it is shady?

And on what basis would you report this to Upwork?

joansands
Community Member