🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Too Self-Critical?
Page options
alessandrabertu
Community Member

Too Self-Critical?

Hi Upworkers, 

I will be very grateful, if you give me a piece of advice. I joined Upwork two months ago. In two weeks I was able to find a client with whom I started to collaborate as a writer, obtaining an excellent feedback. From time to time my proposals (for quite interesting positions related to writing) are answered, but for a reason or another I don't get the job. If you enter my profile, you will see that I have experience as a translator, but mainly in Bulgarian into Italian translation. When I submit a proposal for a translation from English or, more rarely, from Russian into Italian, I never get an answer. I explain it as it follows: 

1) I cannot demonstrate my experience in ENG into IT translation (even if I have posted one or two samples in my portfolio and I have taken the test "Translation ENG into IT" with the highest score) because I have a degree in Linguistics, not in Translation;

2) I am not good enough in writing proposals because of my poor active English and because of my lack of experience;

3) my profile is completed (I am also a Rising Talent), but I suppose there is something wrong that unfortunately I can't  see;

4) sometimes I really don't know how to write a proposal, especially when the clients are very vague, short and unspecific. In these cases I decide to "imitate" client's style and I just simplify, figuring that they don't want to loose time reading. But, is it a good practice? 

Can you see any other reasons for not being answered? Am I right or too self-critical?

Thanks for your answers. 

All the best,

Alessandra

2 REPLIES 2
gilbert-phyllis
Community Member

Several very smart, experienced translators frequent this forum and will no doubt have advice for you specific to that discipline. Meanwhile, I can offer a few more general remarks.