🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Travel Fees
Page options
samscheetz
Community Member

Travel Fees

I am new to Upwork and was wondering, as a freelancer, how to charge fees in addition to my hourly rate. For example, if a client wanted me to fly across the country and I wanted them to pay for it. Thanks!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
joansands
Community Member

Samuel - It seems to me that you could always do a fixed-rate contract that could include travel costs & taking into account Upwork's fees.

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
gilbert-phyllis
Community Member

There is not a reasonable way to do it. UW requires every dollar the client pays you--for anything--to run through the platform and it takes its percentage. There's no way to handle "pass through" costs like travel, without somebody taking the hit for UW's cut.  (That's one reason most of us try to stay home. Also, it's OK if we forget to comb our hair.)

joansands
Community Member

Samuel - It seems to me that you could always do a fixed-rate contract that could include travel costs & taking into account Upwork's fees.

This seems like the easiest solution. Will do travel job for $XXXX. Will do remote job for $XX/hour. Thanks!

wlyonsatl
Community Member

A moderator can chime in here, but I see no reason you could not have the client pay for the airfare directly to the airline with no Upwork fee implications for you or the client.

Just as a client can buy software or hardware needed for you to perform work for them and not pay an override to Upwork for the price of that software or hardeware, the cost of a flight is income to the airline, not income to you.