🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Trouble getting started - does Rising Talent ...
Page options
jwarren73
Community Member

Trouble getting started - does Rising Talent flag help, and how do I get it without landing any jobs

I am relatively new to Upwork - while I created the account several months ago, I've only been actively submitting proposals for the past week or so. Unfortunately, I haven't had a single response to any of my proposals - with no job success rating and no Rising Talent flag, it seems as if employers don't even read my proposal letter. The only suggestion I've gotten from friends that have used the system is to offer to do jobs for free to build a history, which isn't particularly appealing... any suggestions?

10 REPLIES 10
yitwail
Community Member

I’ll give you one piece of advice: don’t listen to anything these friends who have used “the system” tell you. Working for free is a terrible idea. I certainly never worked for free at Upwork and I would be shocked if many successful freelancers have worked for free. Ask to see your friends’ profiles, and let them prove that working for free is a good strategy.
Community Manager

Hey Jon, 

Don't give up just yet. I checked your profile and would recommend that you remove this line - "I'm a highly experienced Excel programmer (including VBA) looking for some extra projects to tackle on the evenings and weekends, potentially leading to long-term contractual consultant work," and replace it with how you are a highly experienced excel programmer. It would be best to always talk about your skills and expertise on your profile overview so that clients have an idea what you can offer them with just a glance on your profile. 

Seeing that you are new here, I would suggest that you read up on these resources we have compiled so that you can read up on great tips on how you can be successful on your freelancing business here on Upwork.