🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Uncomfortable with client's approach
Page options
scottek
Community Member

Uncomfortable with client's approach

I'm new to Upwork and with my very first inquiry from a potential client, they wanted to work outside Upwork and wanted personal contact info (name, address, phone, etc). I didn't feel comfortable with this. I would appreciate feedback on what I should do. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

re: "Please elaborate on your last comment about deal-breakers."

Usually if a potential client asks for your phone and address, then you are dealing with a scammer.

But not ALWAYS.

Particularly with phone numbers... there ARE legitimate clients who will ask for your phone number.

MOST clients do NOT ask for this. Some do.

So I am saying, there ARE legitimate clients who may ask for phone number - and even ask for an address on an NDA or something. So I can't say for certain that somebody who asks for a phone number or address is a scammer.

I won't say those particular things in and of themselves are "deal-breakers" (meaning - there is no way I will deal with them).

======

And FYI:

If you ever DO want to proceed with setting up a contract with a client who asks for contact information, you do NOT need to provide your "prime" information. You can provide them with alternative information that will work, but which isn't so personal:

- email address? Use a throw-away single-project email address. You can create free email addresses using many services. You don't need to provide your prime email address.

- phone number? You can create a specific-purpose phone number for free using services such as Google Voice.

- address? You don't need to provide your actual physical home address. You can provide a P.O. Box or local post office location where people can send you mail C/O, etc. Talk to your local postal office or commercial mail box service about this. There are lots of alternatives.

View solution in original post

22 REPLIES 22
florydev