🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Uninterested Clients
Page options
adham-kharoub
Community Member

Uninterested Clients

Hi. I'm fairly new to upwork so I have a question for more experienced members.

I noticed that many jobs go unhired. The client post a job, +50 proposals, and 0 hires. I want to know why does someone post a job when he doesn't want to hire anyone? That wastes connects and counts as a submitted proposal, and for a newbie, many unsuccessful proposals isn't a good thing and could potentially cause suspension. I thought that sometimes you could post a job but no one of the applicants really fits it, but I find some jobs that say "Urgent" and it's an extremely easy job, and after 3 days, +50 proposals, 0 hires. Then what to do? How to avoid this problem?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

@Adham K wrote:

I noticed that many jobs go unhired. The client post a job, +50 proposals, and 0 hires. I want to know why does someone post a job when he doesn't want to hire anyone? That wastes connects and counts as a submitted proposal, and for a newbie, many unsuccessful proposals isn't a good thing and could potentially cause suspension. I thought that sometimes you could post a job but no one of the applicants really fits it, but I find some jobs that say "Urgent" and it's an extremely easy job, and after 3 days, +50 proposals, 0 hires. Then what to do? How to avoid this problem?

Clients may hire from a different platform, or their project never happens, or they do hire, but via direct contract offer, or they give the gig to a freelancer they already have a contract with.

At the end of the day Upwork can't force clients to hire, let alone to hire you.

You can see a client's hire rate (percentage of hires / jobs posted) that is stated on the job posts.

hire rate.jpg

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
petra_r
Community Member

@Adham K wrote: