🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Unresponsive Client
Page options
kathryn_ricke
Community Member

Unresponsive Client

I was contacted by a client to edit photos. I'm new to Upwork and the client never initiated the contract, but we negotiated payment via messages. I completed the first half of the work required and delivered watermarked images for review. I've not heard from the client since then. Do I have any options here? Or did I make a mistake by doing the work without an active contract?
8 REPLIES 8
prestonhunter
Community Member

You can't get paid without a contract.

You have been doing everying incorrectly.

You need to receive a contract offer from the client. Then your contract appears here:

Upwork > My Jobs > My Jobs

THEN you do the work.

Then you submit the work to the client. NOT watermarked or handicapped.

And you get paid automatically, whether the client is responsive or not.

The only thing you can do now is ask the client to click the Hire button in order to send you an official Upwork contract offer.

Without an official contract, you can't get paid. If you get paid without a contract, you could be suspended or terminated from the platform.

That's the problem. He asked for work to be completed the next day and then completely stopped responding to me. I watermarked the images just in case this happened.

It makes me sick that people will take advantage like this.

Hi Kathryn, 

I'm sorry to learn about your experience with this client. We always recommend for freelancers to only start working on projects if the following are met: 

• client sent an offer to the freelancer;
  • the freelancer accepts the offer;
  • the contract is showing as an active contract on the freelancer's My Jobs page;
  • the client's payment method is verified. 

This helps ensure that you meet some of the requirements for Upwork Payment Protection