🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Upwork: The most frustrating way to find ...
Page options
tdgoodson
Community Member

Upwork: The most frustrating way to find work ...

So far I find Upwork to be the most frustrating way to find work that I've ever tried. Please see the attached file as my exhibit. I'm a new freelancer here, so of course I have no success score. I am not designated a "Rising Talent" even though I met all the requirements immediately. I have no Upwork hours, much less "at least 100 hours," and so on and so forth. The bids that I have submitted were custom tailored (as recommended) to each client, which was time consuming--I received no acknowledgement that they were received (or read). After reading at least 100 jobs, according to the Preferred Qualifications I'm not qualified for at least 95% of them, nevermind my 25 years of experience.

I see no way to filter out the jobs I'm not qualified for per the "Preferred Qualifications." Is there a filter? If so, where is it please? If not, why isn't there one? Regarding these preferred qualifications, am I just supposed to ignore them and submit proposals anyway and hope for the best? I'm really not getting how this works. Endlessly submitting tailored bids when one does not meet the "Preferred Qualifcations" is no work at all. It is more like an excercise in killing your own soul.

Yes, I'm sure you all have heard similar complaints to these over and over, but Upwork really isn't shaping up to be a viable option, at least for me. I don't have the time to scroll through dozens and dozens of jobs every day that require a job success score of 90% and numerous Upwork hours that I don't have.

If I'm missing something here, would someone please talk me down? Otherwise, I'll try submitting another bid or two for jobs I'm not qualified for to see if anything happens, but I really don't think Upwork is for me.

Thank you.

7 REPLIES 7
bobafett999
Community Member