🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Upwork TimeTracker App & W-2 vs. 1099
Page options
e71cf63a
Community Member

Upwork TimeTracker App & W-2 vs. 1099

Hi there,

I tried to download the Upwork App Time Tracker but it doesn't seem to be working. I use an iMac with macOS High Sierra version 10.13.6. Should it work with my version or if not, can you recommend something different for my version to track time?

Also, as a Freelancer, your clients hire me for hourly or set rate projects, correct? If someone hires me, do I have to work as their paid employee (W-2) or do I work as a contractor (1099)? How is this determined and set into motion. I have a client interested in hiring me for an hourly job but not sure how to have this conversation or if I make the determination or they do.

Thank you,

Shannon

14 REPLIES 14
BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Shannon,

Could you please share more information about the issue you're experiencing with the Desktop App so that we can assist you accordingly? 

If you're not filing as a company entity, you can use your own legal name as it appears in your passport or other official documents. Please note that the W-9 form is required for freelancers to be able to withdraw their earnings from Upwork. You will select what filing status you are filing for in the drop-down in your account settings under Tax Information. If you have any questions about your filing status, we advise you to contact your local accountant or tax advisor. You can also read this and this help article for more information about filing a Form W-9 with Upwork and Reporting Income from Upwork.

Thank you!

~ Bojan
Upwork
e71cf63a
Community Member

Thank you. To confirm, I can be a paid employee (w-2) or a 1099 as a freelancer but either way will have to file the w-9 with upwork? Are taxes automatically taken out with the w-9? Also, how do I determine if I go the contractor or paid employee route once your client makes the offer? Do they determine that or me?