cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upwork's Charges, Legal Fees and the Unlicensed Practice of Law

Gregory L Member Since: Apr 18, 2017
1 of 61

Hello All,

I am an attorney and brand new to Upwork.  I searched for the answer to my question throughout the forums to no avail. 

The divying up of the legal fees in the way UW outlines seems it would prohibit attorneys in most states from using UW at all.  While attorneys are generally allowed to buy "leads" from marketing companies for a fixed amount of money, insofar an attorney is paying a percentage directly based on their actual legal fees with a non-lawyer this would most likely be considered the unlicensed practice of law. 

Am I missing something here? Any clarification would be immensely helpful. 

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 61

Upwork is not about "the unlicensed practice of law."

It sounds like you want to turn Upwork into something it is not.

Upwork is an immensely useful tool. But it is not ALL things to ALL people.

Upwork does not purport to be a good place to hire somebody to clean septic tanks.  Nor does it purport to offer specialized tools or functionality geared specifically for law practices. It is what it is and if you perceive that it has limitations, you are correct.

3 of 61

Perhaps my tone came off the wrong way.  

I am a licensed attorney, and I would like to use UW.  It is clearly a useful tool for connecting people with legal needs to lawyers and other types of legal professional.  But the way that UW structures their fees seems like it might prevent an attorney from being able to do work that only an attorney can do (as opposed to other types of legal professionals) because it might be viewed by a state Bar association as fee sharing (which is considered a form of unauthorized practice of law because a unlicensed company is receiving legal fees).