🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Upwork's process for determining low success ...
Page options
bennettnancy
Community Member

Upwork's process for determining low success rate of a freelancer

I am new to Upwork and I get the impression from what I read that Upwork keeps close tabs on your success rate and could suspend you if you are not "performing".This makes sense and is fair so that the platform is populated with valued freelancers but I would like to know how they do this. I am particularily interested in this because there are a few things that could "count against me" that may not have anything to do with me.

The first is I sent proposals for 2 jobs. Both jobs seemed to have been sitting for a month or so with multiple proposals already submitted. I worried they were inactive but thought I was a good fit so went ahead anyway and I thought it would be good practice with the process. They have just sat ther ever since. Not sure if that reflects poorly of me in Upworks eyes. I understand that perhaps they didn't want me but it is also likely they no longer are seeking to fill this job. Is there a penalty for the clients for inactive jobs in Upwork to avoid this? If not, then is the freelancer penalized when they don't get a "hit" on a job even when it could be the client changed their mind and decided not to move ahead with the job with anyone (not specifically havign anything to do with you?)