🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Using PayPal instead of payment through upwor...
Page options
mthomas03
Community Member

Using PayPal instead of payment through upwork

I was contacted through text by a user new to upwork and she wants me to use PayPal for payment. I am a new freelancer and i want the work but I am not sure about this - it seems to got around all the safeguards that upwork has in place. What should i do?  I just have a bad feeling. Plus what she is asking me to do is not exactly the scope of her post. Much less complicated. 

Thanks!

Michelle 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

This is a violation of one of Upwork's most sacred rules.

I am not exaggerating when I say that freelancers have been suspended just for TALKING about using PayPal as a payment method.

All payments must go through PayPal.

It is likely that the "client" you are talking to knows this, and is trying to scam you and steal your money and/or time.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
prestonhunter
Community Member

This is a violation of one of Upwork's most sacred rules.

I am not exaggerating when I say that freelancers have been suspended just for TALKING about using PayPal as a payment method.

All payments must go through PayPal.

It is likely that the "client" you are talking to knows this, and is trying to scam you and steal your money and/or time.

Having said all this:
Note that PayPal is allowed as a way that clients can fund their payments to Upwork. (As long as the client lives in a place that allows PayPal.)

But this is strictly between the client and Upwork.

The method a client uses to PayPal is not something that a freelancer needs to know and not something that a client should discuss with a freelancer.

Thank you for the support. I appreciate it. I really appreciate the feedback!!
cylver1z
Community Member

Hello Michelle,