🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Using a friend's US bank acct
Page options
077244cf
Community Member

Using a friend's US bank acct

Hello! I am rather new to upwork and I was trying to add a method of payment, however for whatever reason I seem to be unable to link my payoneer account. I was wondering if it was possible to link a US bank account that belongs to a friend. Perhaps if he adds me as a beneficiary on said account? 

Please keep in mind that I ask this because I have some terrible experiences with receiving a payoneer card in the past, the sheer amount of incompetence (for lack of a better word) can make the experience very upleasant. 

Lastly, do you think that perhaps I could open this new payoneer account linked to upwork, and send the funds to the account in which I already have a card with? is that possible? 

Thanks in advance.

6 REPLIES 6
prestonhunter
Community Member

If you are named as an account holder on a U.S. bank account then, yes, Upwork's payment withdrawal software will allow you to use that account as a withdrawal method.

If you want a PAYMENT method, used to purchase connects or pay freelancers, then you may use a credit card that you have permission to use, even if you are not a named account holder.

As for Payoneer, yes, Upwork allows users in qualifying countries to use Payoneer as a payment withdrawal method, as long as they are a named account holder. They allow this even if you had a prior unpleasant experience with Payoneer.

https://support.upwork.com/hc/en-us/articles/211063988-Payoneer

Unfortunately I am not the primary holder on this account, it's a friend's.
How about transferring the money from my new payoneer to the old payoneer?

re: "I am not the primary holder on this account, it's a friend's."

Upwork doesn't care.

You don't need to be the primary or original account holder. You simply need to be an account holder, a named beneficiary.