cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

W-8BEN tax information for Indian citizens living in India?

sushil_verghese
Sushil V Member Since: Jun 4, 2017
1 of 33

Hi,

I'm new to Upwork. The site mentions that if you are not a US person you have to supply your W-8BEN tax information in order to get paid. Does this hold true for Indian citizens living in India (Bangalore)? If so, where will we get this information from and is there an Indian equivalent?

I have currently linked my bank account for direct deposit using my IFSC code. Will I still need to submit W-8BEN or just pay my taxes here in India?

Please help.

juvy_ann-palma
Community Guru
Juvy Ann P Member Since: Oct 29, 2015
2 of 33

@Sushil V wrote:

Hi,

I'm new to Upwork. The site mentions that if you are not a US person you have to supply your W-8BEN tax information in order to get paid. Does this hold true for Indian citizens living in India (Bangalore)? If so, where will we get this information from and is there an Indian equivalent?

I have currently linked my bank account for direct deposit using my IFSC code. Will I still need to submit W-8BEN or just pay my taxes here in India?

Please help.

That form is for non-US citizens, Sushil.  If you click on "Settings" under your profile picture, you'll be re-directed to a page where you get to provide your legal name and address (which must match with your bank account details so as to avoid future payment problems).

W-8BEN does not imply that you are a taxpayer.  Choosing to register as a taxpayer is the call for a few I think.

sushil_verghese
3 of 33

Hi Juvy Ann, 

Thank you for the quick reply.