🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: W-8BEN
Page options
codingham
Community Member

W-8BEN

Hi there! I would like to find out about the 'legal name' part of the W-8BEN form, I do not have a legal business name as I am a freelancer, how do I go about dealing with this? Could I use my full name?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi Tristin,

You should use your full legal name as shown in your government-issued documents and on your Upwork account.

Thank you.

~ Aleksandar
Upwork

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16
AleksandarD
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Tristin,

The Form W-8BEN is a form used to confirm you’re not a U.S. taxpayer and that Upwork is not required to withhold taxes from your earnings. For record-keeping purposes, Upwork requires a Form W-8BEN for all non-U.S. taxpayers paid on Upwork. Once you file your Form W-8BEN, the system will activate your eligibility to access funds immediately.

To fill in the form, please type-in your legal name, and address that matches your Upwork account. You may read more information about the form here.

Thank you.

~ Aleksandar
Upwork

Could I use my full name?

Hi Tristin,

You should use your full legal name as shown in your government-issued documents and on your Upwork account.

Thank you.

~ Aleksandar
Upwork

If I don’t have any business, is my name and surname written in my passport will work?
BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Vladimir,

Yes, you can use your own legal name as it appears in your passport or other official documents.

Thank you.

~ Bojan
Upwork
a9038d90
Community Member

Thanks a lot, this helps.

Hello there!

I've just created an Upwork account.

I've filled out Form W8-BEN on the IRS website and saved it as PDF. Do I have to upload it here somewhere, or will it be enough to just type my address and legal name in 'Tax information' section? Thank you in advance! 

Hi Zagorka,