cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

W9 tax information

Patricia B Member Since: Jan 2, 2017
1 of 17

Hello:
I'm new to Upwork.  Am I able to begin working before I complete my W9 information? 

Thank you,

Patricia Braun

Valeria K Moderator Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
2 of 17

Hi Patricia,

You can start bidding on jobs and can even work on contracts before completing your W-9 form. However, you won't be able to withdraw your earnings before you complete the form.

~ Valeria
Untitled
3 of 17

Hello Valeria:

Thank you for responding to my request.  I'm just a bit unsure about entering my social security number on the site for security reasons.  Just want to be sure Upwork is a secure site.

Thank you,

Patricia Braun

4 of 17

Patricia,

Rest assured your personal information is secure and is only used to comply with U. S. tax regulations. You can find more information here.

~ Valeria
Untitled
5 of 17

Thank you for your help.

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
6 of 17

re: "Thank you for responding to my request.  I'm just a bit unsure about entering my social security number on the site for security reasons.  Just want to be sure Upwork is a secure site."

You are wise to be cautious.

You do NOT need to supply your social security to Upwork if you decide to not work as a freelancer here.

But I supplied my social security number a couple years ago, and it was definitely worth it!

I can tell you Upwork is secure, it is serious about security, and it is a real way to earn money for people who have skills and put some effort into learning the system.

Take as much time as you'd like to silently read through the Community Forum posts. Those of us who participate here are real people, earning real money. There are sites out there which are scams and shouldn't be trusted. Upwork is the real deal.

7 of 17