🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Was I scammed????
Page options
cynwest
Community Member

Was I scammed????

I am new to Upwork. I applied for a virtual assistant job. They responded immediately asking for my email address. They emailed me saying I have been hired and to send a picture of my license and my W9. It didn't seem suspicious to me because this is info any employer asks for. I sent it and haven't heard back. Upwork notified me that this job post has been taken down because they did not comply with upworks terms. I'm guess this was a scam. But what can someone do with that kind of info? I started a fraud alert with the credit bureau. I will notify social security that my info has been comprimised. But is there anything else I should be doing to cover myself? I realize now that no one should be asking for personal info outside of the site, but that being my first job offer, I guess I was too eager. 

4 REPLIES 4
cylver1z
Community Member

Hello Cynthia,

I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Please avoid giving your personal information to your clients. You may read these articles to help you:

Getting Started

Tips to avoid questionable jobs

How it Works

Thank you

Untitled
duan-susan
Community Member

Actually I wil keep an eye on resposes because very similar has just happened to me. Didn't get offered just asked for email and phone number. Having only just started on Upwork I'm very innocent to the system but as I am chinese I have seen enough scams and my husband (an Australian) studied Internet scams and Identity Theft so I am also a little suspicous.

mtngigi
Community Member

@Cynthia B wrote: