🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » What does interview mean on Upwork?
Page options
2d318873
Community Member

What does interview mean on Upwork?

Hello everyone,

Hope everyones weekend is going well. I am very new to Upwork and am a wee bit confused about Upwork "Interviews". So I would like to ask here before proceeding really.

I know what an interview is in terms of job hunting, but I recently moved from another freelance website and the process is different.

I notice that there is an option for voice or video call above the message, but does this necessarilly mean I need to call them? I am prepared to do this, but would rather keep communications in instant messages so I can refer to it later if needs be.

I am also quite nervous too if I'm honest.

I have tried searching on the forum, but even searching interview didn't return any results.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
yitwail
Community Member

Phillip,

Welcome to Upwork. I'm not surprised you couldn't find anything by searching the forum, you'll have better luck using Google, but that's beside the point. An "interview" at Upwork means a client has responded to your proposal or your acceptance of an invitation. There's no need to use the audio or video features unless the client requests it. Hope this helps.

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
yitwail
Community Member

Phillip,

Welcome to Upwork. I'm not surprised you couldn't find anything by searching the forum, you'll have better luck using Google, but that's beside the point. An "interview" at Upwork means a client has responded to your proposal or your acceptance of an invitation. There's no need to use the audio or video features unless the client requests it. Hope this helps.

Sometimes the client will want to use audio or video to verify you are who you say you are.  (for example, a profile that says "fluent" in English and a freelancer who can barely speak English).  Depends on what category your skills encompass.