🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: What does "hires" mean in a job list?
Page options
weiqi-zhang
Community Member

What does "hires" mean in a job list?

Hi,

I'm new to Upwork. As I was searching for jobs, I found that some jobs' "hire" is 1. Does it mean that someone already is hired and it is meaningless to submit my proposal? It is confusing to me because the job shows up in the "job in progress" and the system still allows me to submit proposal. Can any one tell me if I should skip all jobs that has 1 hire?

Thanks.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
joanbonjoc
Community Member

Hi Weiqi,

"Hires" in the "Activity on This Job" section of the job post refers to the number of people the client has already hired for this job.

~ Jo-An

Untitled

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
joanbonjoc
Community Member

Hi Weiqi,

"Hires" in the "Activity on This Job" section of the job post refers to the number of people the client has already hired for this job.

~ Jo-An

Untitled

I had the same confusion. 'Hires' should be reworded to 'candidates hired for this listing'. Or in fact the listing should automatically close if they've hired the amount of people they want. It's so stupid and just makes me waste tokens. So backward.

Hi jo-an, so if it says "1hire" I've already hired someone?

martina_plaschka
Community Member

@Weiqi Z wrote:

Hi,

I'm new to Upwork. As I was searching for jobs, I found that some jobs' "hire" is 1. Does it mean that someone already is hired and it is meaningless to submit my proposal? It is confusing to me because the job shows up in the "job in progress" and the system still allows me to submit proposal. Can any one tell me if I should skip all jobs that has 1 hire?

Thanks.

Yes, unless the client specifically states he is looking to hire more than 1 freelancer. 

b0e4094d
Community Member