🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: What is the average wait time for a contr...
Page options
rayecooper
Community Member

What is the average wait time for a contract to be awarded to a freelancer? Is there a time limit?

I'm new to upwork and have only applied for 2 contracts so far, but I've been waiting more than a week to see if I've been accepted. Is it normal to wait for this long? Is there a time limit that clients have to choose a freelancer or can they leave just leave you hanging wondering for weeks, or even months? I've noticed that some contracts never even get awarded and the freelancer loses the connects for that application, which is very unfair. It seems that the client doesn't have to be responsible for their posts and how they treat freelancers either. I'm getting ready to give up. It shouldn't be this difficult. And clients should have more respect for the people who are applying to work for them and make the effort to communicate!

13 REPLIES 13
velibor88
Community Member

I really went through a lot to get to my first gig. I was writing proposals every single day, getting that first job is definitely the hardest thing - 2 contracts is really nothing, as you should be really hitting it hard. Keep it simple and short. 

Sometimes, I would forget that I even wrote a proposal to a client and a month later, out of the blue, the client would contact me and I would eventually get a job.

Again, keep it short, simple and confident. State what you know and that you WILL deliver the job and be prepared to send a LOT of proposals in the beginning. It pays off in the end - maybe you won't even have to apply for jobs when you build your reputation.

Good luck!

Hi Velibor,