🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » What is the frequency of clients asking for i...
Page options
lauranky
Community Member

What is the frequency of clients asking for interviews?

Pre-upwork, almost all clients I had for freelance contracts never asked for a phone or video interview. Everything was based on my online information and chat/email discussions. 

I assumed Upwork would be similar but it seems that's not the case. Admittedly the idea of doing a formal video interview for every small freelance job isn't overly appealing. An interview every few years was stressful enough Smiley LOL
My preference is definitely for everything to happen in chat so I have a record I can refer back to when needed, as well.

Is it because I'm new to upwork and don't have the reputation yet, or is this standard even for more experienced FLs on Upwork?

Edit: I should mention these seem like legit companies who want to interview on the Upwork platform.

12 REPLIES 12

Thankfully not, they all seem legit and happy to interview on Upwork. 

prestonhunter
Community Member

It's an interesting question.

I can imagine that each freelancer would report a different frequency, and that such frequencies would vary based on the job niche and cost segment.

As a client, I never ask for interviews. But I hire mainly for small projects.

As a freelancer, I am often hired on for larger projects. I would estimate between 25% and one-third of projects I get hired for begin with a video interview or phone interview. These may be conducted via Skype or other tools, such as Zoom, GoToMeeting, and on rare occasions even the Upwork videoconferencing tool (which has had considerable problems in the past, but occasionally works).