🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: What should I do if I took a wrong job?
Page options
tomliuwhite
Community Member

What should I do if I took a wrong job?

Recently I accepted one offer from a client. After I got this job, I felt that I might make a mistake. I thought my job was to translate from English to Chinese. But actually it requires translating from Spanish to Chinese. I sent one message to the client. I am waiting for his reply. This is my first time to face this kind of problem. So I really need some help. My questions are:
1, what should I or client do? This client is also new on UpWork, he might also not know how to do.
2, how will it affect my JSS?
Thanks!
ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

If you took a wrong job, then you should do the right thing.

What is the right thing to do?

Apologize briefly to the client and close the job.

JSS is a secondary consideration.

As a freelancer, if I took a wrong job, then that was my mistake, and I should not be putting my concerns about JSS ahead of making things right for the client.

You asked specifically: "What should I or the client do?"

The client does not need to do anything.

You, as the freelancer, will navigate to the job listing here:

Upwork -> My Jobs -> My Jobs

You will click on the contract listing. This will take you to the page dedicated to the individual contract. Then you will click on the "three dots" icon and choose the "End contract" option.

re: "How will it affect my JSS?"

Having a zero-pay contract has a negative impact on JSS.

But how much depends...

You have already completed 17 jobs.

Having one zero-pay contract may affect your JSS very little. You might not even notice.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
prestonhunter
Community Member

If you took a wrong job, then you should do the right thing.

What is the right thing to do?

Apologize briefly to the client and close the job.