cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When do you get a JSS?

Highlighted
Steven C Member Since: Nov 26, 2016
1 of 8

I am new to Upwork (like 3 weeks) and though things have been going well (multiple contracts, Rising Talent, five-star feedback) I was just wanting to know how long it takes to get a JSS? Also, I know that I will not be top-rated anytime soon since you need like 13ish awesome weeks, so is it better to have a Rising Talent Badge or a JSS? 

Highlighted
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
2 of 8

You need 4 completed (ended) contracts from at least 3 different clients to get a JSS.

As to whether a JSS or Rising Talent is "better" - that rather depends on the JSS you get....

The JSS updates once every 2 weeks, the next update being tomorrow. You look like you may well get yours tomorrow.

Hint: Check the description of your portfolio item...... 2.5 mistakes in one sentence don't look good on a writer / editor profile.

Highlighted
3 of 8

Thanks so much. I think I have a total of seven contracts right now. Four of them have been completed and rated (all five stars) but they are only from two separate clients, not four. With my open contracts, one has been completed (from a third separate client) but they have not closed the contract and given a rating. The other two are from separate clients as well, but they are ongoing so I do not imagine that I will receive feedback from them for awhile.

I try to stay away from the bottom-barrel work (I have no idea why people accept work for $3/1000), but would it be worth it to take some quick, cheap work just for the feedback, or should I stay with the $25ish/1000 words jobs? 

I don't have much of problem finding clients here on Upwork, though I just don't know if the lack of a JSS is keeping me from the stellar contracts. 

Thanks for your help btw! 

Highlighted
Community Guru
4 of 8

@Steven C wrote: