🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: When is it time to up my hourly rate
Page options
steveromano
Community Member

When is it time to up my hourly rate

I've started to get some gigs, which is good. But I know I started my hourly rate too low. I am a writer and know my worth. I started low because i was new to Upwork and wanted to land some gigs to get my rating up.

When should I raise my hourly wage? I know you can raise it whenever, but I am looking for more of a strategic answer. 

11 REPLIES 11
prestonhunter
Community Member

When you are getting too much work and too many offers at your current rate, then it is a good time to increase your rate.

wlyonsatl
Community Member

That depends.

You were smart to not try to charge your maximum pricing early in your use of Upwork. When you submit your proposals on new projects, where is the price of your bid in comparison to other freelancers’ bids?

If you’re usually much nearer the low end of the range rather than the high end, you can probably increase your average bids as you build a growing portfolio of successfully completed projects.

Do you have experience in your field outside of Upwork?

If the pricing in your other experience before or outside of Upwork has been higher than you are charging your Upwork clients now, there may be some room to increase your Upwork pricing. (Remember that many clients, depending on your area of specialty, come to Upwork looking for a good deal. As in any labor market, if your skills and experience are demonstrably superior to your competitors, you will be able to charge a premium price - eventually.)