🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Where do I find the client name?
Page options
brian-pickens
Community Member

Where do I find the client name?

Hello,

I'm new to upwork looking through jobs. I'm trying to submit my first job proposal but I don't see the client name anywhere in the posting. Do I have to click somewhere to see it?

20 REPLIES 20
michael_skaggs
Community Member

Client names are never shown before submitting a proposal.

I cant even see them after submitting a proposal .Its happening since last night .

martina_plaschka
Community Member

Brian P wrote:

Hello,

I'm new to upwork looking through jobs. I'm trying to submit my first job proposal but I don't see the client name anywhere in the posting. Do I have to click somewhere to see it?

No, it's not possible to see the client's name. 

yeasir_arafat_13
Community Member

You can find the client's name from his/her's past history (feedbacks/reviews) if there’s any, sometimes the past reviews contains client’s name.

Wouldn't it make sense to include that in the job posting with the client information?

Brian P wrote:

Wouldn't it make sense to include that in the job posting with the client information?

It would, if there weren't thousands of unprofessional freelancers who use that knowledge to track down and hound clients outside of Upwork - Linkedin, their websites, FB, etc. etc.  All that does is make for angry clients.

ETA: And to state the obvious, you don't need their names to submit a bid. Even clients whose names can be found because they've included clues or their website - they don't need to be addressed by that name either. Many companies have someone who posts the job, but that's not necessarily whom you'll communicate with if they contact you.

orwille
Community Member

Very well said Virginia.

I guess this has something to do with addressing the client on the cover letter, I suppose.

bf19b11e
Community Member

Hello!