🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Why clients who bid high offers always se...
Page options
cumbytwice
Community Member

Why clients who bid high offers always settle for less?

Hello,

I am pretty new to Upwork, although I have been here for several months. Uptil now, I haven't been employed once. I told myself the reason for this is that my profile wasn't updated enough, that I didn't have enough experience and that I didn't even have a job success score.

All that has changed in the past few months, I have worked hard on building my Upwork profile and have been applying for many jobs. Which is why I have encountered the problem of a lot of clients bidding a high price while they expect you to bid for a much lower price. The problem I have with this is that higher bids require more connects to apply. Hence I may use up four connects for a job that is worth two, simply because the job is offering $100 whereas they know they will choose a freelancer with the lowest bidding. Not only does the client save up a lot of money, but quite a bit of it goes to Upwork. This means that the only person not to benefit in the situation is the worker themselves...who then has to invest in getting more connects.

I find it unfair that clients offer a high price in their proposals even though they know they have no intention of paying that amount. It's like clickbait...and it costs to the one who is actually in need of employment.

I hope this will be adressed as soon as possible. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
bizwriterjohn
Community Member

I assume nothing based on stated budget.  Perhaps the prospective client was feeling strong that night.  Perhaps they simply want to send a strong notion: they have money.  Some have a lot of money and do not feel uncomfortable making sure those who need to know - know it in spades.

Use a counter strategy.  

1. Bid a milestone upfront of $10 to $50 with the demarkation of "Placeholder". 

2. Then have some fun and test their metal: