🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Why is it necessary to publish my graduat...
Page options
donald-price
Community Member

Why is it necessary to publish my graduation date in my profile?

Why is it necessary to publish my graduation date? May I kindly ask to have it removed from my profile? As a person of a certain age, I am finding it increasingly difficult to get work because of this. Most Experts agree that if your over 40 you should probably not include your age on your resume. What is your policy agains age discrimination? I don't mind Upshot knowing that I graduated Art School in 1982. I bought my first Macintosh in 1986. I learned to use the first version of photoshop while it was still in Beta. But I do mind sharing that information with the world if it is not pertinent. There is a lot of age discrimination in the larger full time job market. Consider my experience as a plus not as a negative because I am an experienced professional, not an "old person who doesn't get it". 

I appreciate the opinions of fellow Upwork members, but I am really interested in getting an official explanation for this requirement. Thanks in advance!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Don,

We want to build and maintain trustworthy and transparent marketplace on Upwork. Typically our testing and surveys show that they more clients know about the freelancer's professional background, the more likely they are to hire them. That's why we are asking freelancers as much information about their education and experience as possible.

I'll also forward your feedback and concern to the team.

~ Valeria
Upwork

View solution in original post

26 REPLIES 26
jojomo
Community Member

Hi Donald,