🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Working before the start date
Page options
nptco
Community Member

Working before the start date

Hi, I am new to Upwork. I was hired yesterday and accepted the offer already today, but my start date will be on the 29th of May 2019. I already started working since yesterday. The client said that I can only manually input the time worked from April 30 to May 28 once my contract starts on May 29th, and I will still wait for the next rolled out date of payment of Upwork. My worry is if Upwork won't accept and pay the manual hours worked before the contract date. Please advise what to do? I have read that he can cancel the contract and offer a new start date so I can input my hours worked real time. Thank you.

12 REPLIES 12
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Nelda Princess C wrote:

Hi, I am new to Upwork. I was hired yesterday and accepted the offer already today, but my start date will be on the 29th of May 2019. I already started working since yesterday. The client said that I can only manually input the time worked from April 30 to May 28 once my contract starts on May 29th, and I will still wait for the next rolled out date of payment of Upwork. My worry is if Upwork won't accept and pay the manual hours worked before the contract date. Please advise what to do? I have read that he can cancel the contract and offer a new start date so I can input my hours worked real time. Thank you.

Why does the client want you to input hours manually? You are not payment-protected by upwork if you do. I would think a client would always prefer hours tracked, because he gets a screenshot every 10 minutes and can check if you are really working on his project. So, what's his rationale?

Hi Martina, I am not sure what the reason behind, but his assistant said that's upwork policy for the start date. What should I tell him? Could Upwork possibly pay me still for the hours worked being entered manually before the start date? Thank you
hodgesh