🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Writting and Translating
Page options
aurelina
Community Member

Writting and Translating

Hi,

I am new to Upwork, and I am starting as a French English Translator, this is new to me, I still don't know how the app works and I landed my first contract last week. I don't understand the difference between being paid hourly and by word.

My employee told me to enter my hours manually and told me the rate is usually 7 to 10 cents per words for general online translation. The text I am working on is taking some time, and his answer isn't clear to me.  How does this all work? Do I get paid per hour or words?

Thank you for your help.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

@Aurelie P wrote:

I am new to Upwork, and I am starting as a French English Translator, this is new to me, I still don't know how the app works and I landed my first contract last week. I don't understand the difference between being paid hourly and by word.

My employee told me to enter my hours manually and told me the rate is usually 7 to 10 cents per words for general online translation. The text I am working on is taking some time, and his answer isn't clear to me.  How does this all work? Do I get paid per hour or words?

Manual time is NOT protected so you should ideally use the tracker to track your hours. If it is an hourly contract it is irrelevant how much you usually charge per word, you log the hours you actually spend translating.

It's your client, not your employer (let alone "employee") by the way 🙂

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
petra_r
Community Member

@Aurelie P wrote:

Manual time is NOT protected so you should ideally use the tracker to track your hours. If it is an hourly contract it is irrelevant how much you usually charge per word, you log the hours you actually spend translating.

It's your client, not your employer (let alone "employee") by the way 🙂

martina_plaschka
Community Member

@Aurelie P wrote:

Hi,