🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: client stopped responding
Page options
b988ecd5
Community Member

client stopped responding

I am very new to Upwork, so please bear that in mind. I was contacted by a client who wanted to pay me for a short editing job as a test, which I thought was fine. But it's been 2 days since I responded (which I did nearly immediately) and I haven't heard anything else. Is this normal?Thanks for any help!

8 REPLIES 8
colettelewis
Community Member

Anne S wrote:

I am very new to Upwork, so please bear that in mind. I was contacted by a client who wanted to pay me for a short editing job as a test, which I thought was fine. But it's been 2 days since I responded (which I did nearly immediately) and I haven't heard anything else. Is this normal?Thanks for any help!

Hi Anne, 

Did you have a contract  for the test? If not you have probably lost out. If you did have a contract and it was fixed-price with escrow funded, and you pressed the release funds button when you submitted the work, then the client has 14 days to review your work. If your client doesn't come back to you before then, the funds will be released into your account. 

I had an Upwork message in which a price was mentioned, and I agreed, but that's it. I assume that doesn't work as a contract? Thanks so much.

Anne S wrote:

I had an Upwork message in which a price was mentioned, and I agreed, but that's it. I assume that doesn't work as a contract? Thanks so much.

How it works:

After discussions in messenger and mutual agreement on price, etc, client sends an offer.

You open offer and click on accept. Now you see the job in your my jobs list. Now you start working.