🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » current freelancer - new agency
Page options
jasontorpy
Community Member

current freelancer - new agency

I am a freelancer with an agency set up. There is a new freelancer who could be independent but could work through my agency. I'm trying to understand the cost difference.
If I have a basic freelancer account and a free agency account, that's like $15/mo plus per-job fees.

If the new freelancer sets up an account, is that automatically $15/mo or is there a free signup?
Can the new freelancer sign up only through my agency and not have a separate public account? would that be free?
What are the fees like for agency-based work rather than independent work?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi Jason,

When inviting a member to join your agency you'll actually be able to set up their roles and permissions, you can then set their status as an exclusive or non-exclusive member. Regardless if they're non-exclusive or exclusive, if they have a contract under the agency, all payments made by the client on that contract will be sent to the agency account, not to the freelancer individual account. Agency account will also be charged for Service Fees for those payments as well as Agency Plus Membership and any Connects purchases. It is then up to the agency to arrange how they will be paying the agency member who worked on that contract as those payments aren't facilitated on Upwork. For more information about agency finances, please see this article.

~ Joanne
Upwork

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
JoanneP

Hi Jason,

Agency members can either be Exclusive or Non-Exclusive members. Agency members who are exclusive work on Upwork only as part of their agency, while Agency members who are non-exclusive can work on Upwork independently or as part of an agency. You can check this help article for more information. 

~ Joanne
Upwork