cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

feedback and free work

Highlighted
Natasa J Member Since: Aug 31, 2016
1 of 23

Hi, I am relatively new to the community and I have some good experiences. However, there is one practice that I find disturbing:  it seems possible for a client to practically blackmail a freelancer, asking for free work for a good review. Sometimes they bluntly say that even when presenting the task, especially to newcoomers. I met a client who constantly tries to manipulate me into the free work. Apparently she likes what I do but doesn't want to pay for it, not to me, not to Upwork.

When I say “free”, it means that she defines weekly work needed as “one hour” and keeps asking for different things that obviously cannot be included in the given framework.  She also keeps changing number and content of requests and deadlines, but still didn't let me get out of the contract easily. (I am not  yet commited to the career of freelancing, but I am very commited to the tasks and jobs I take here, so I went out of my way to do the best I could for her, although I wanted out. She "blackmails" me with the feedback, in very obvious although not clearly verbalised manner. It really makes me reconsider Upwork. It also puzzles me why Upwork lets this happen by setting the feedback policy where clients have so obvious upperhand. In this way a tremendous number of work goes unrecorded and Upwork is ultimately losing money with not having better protection of its freelancers. 

Community Guru
Katrina B Member Since: Jan 9, 2011
2 of 23

It actually doesn't work that way.  It is against ToS for a client to ask for free work, but it is impossible to do free work for a good review because at least a $1 has to be paid on a project before a review can even be left.  So free work for a good review is impossible. 

"Fairness is giving all people the treatment they earn and deserve. It doesn't mean treating everyone alike-Coach John Wooden"