🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » first time here, made connection with a freel...
Page options
3bb9c0b9
Community Member

first time here, made connection with a freelancer who started, but now he's unresponsive

Hi, this is my first time on Upwork and I put out a listing for a job and started communicating with what seemed like a very responsive freelancer who had the skills to complete my project.

We've had pretty entensive communication on a thread and I'd even provided some files/data so he could more accurately give me a quote for the finished project. There was never a contract agreed to because he would never provide me an actual contract to agree to. Now, the freelancer has now gone almost 10 days with no response to me after repeated attempts on my end to find out if he is willing to take on and finish this job.

I know he has done at least some work on the project because he sent me some screen shots with questions he needed answered. I'm now at the point I need to move on and find another freelancer, but my question is can this guy come back later and ask for payment for work he completed?

I don't know if he just decided he didn't want to do the job after seeing all the details or if something has happened and he's no longer able to respond. What should I do in this case?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

If you never had an official contract then no, the freelancer can't ask you to pay them. It sounds like you should just hire someone else. And please be aware that you need to send an offer to the freelancer that you want to hire; they can't send you a contract.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
JoanneP

Hi Jennifer,

I'm sorry to hear that. I tried to check, but I am not able to locate a recent contract. Could you please confirm the contract ID you're referring to so I can check this for you? You can find the Contract ID by clicking on the name of the contract and then navigating to the Terms & Settings tab. Thank you! 

~ Joanne
Upwork