🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: help with profile
Page options
zed_ben
Community Member

help with profile

hi, im new to upwork and ive been looking forward to using this website for a while, i finally got around to setting up my account but there is one small problem, im a muslim woman who wears the burqa, so i do not wish to post a picture of my face, is there a way around it? i would love for the community to share my dilema around so that maybe the upwork team may see it. And i really hope the team is understanding and accepting of me, i really would love to work on this website.

thanks in advance.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi Samina,

Thank you for reaching out to us. I apologize or the inconvenience this caused. Could you please try again to upload your profile photo with niqab? Let us know if you need any further assistance.

Thank you!

~ Bojan
Upwork

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
AveryO
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Zed, 

We'll have one a member of the team reach out to you about your question for more information on how you can upload a profile picture. 

~ Avery
Upwork
barada00
Community Member

@Avery O wrote:

Hi Zed, 

We'll have one a member of the team reach out to you about your question for more information on how you can upload a profile picture. 

Avery, can the community also learn how you deal with issues like this? We know Upwork is always trying to be inclusive about customs of different countries. It would be really great if you can share your solution about this.

We have many users who wear garments that may cover their faces because of religious or cultural reasons, like burqas or niqabs and will accept photos with them wearing them. If our system does not auti-recognize a photo during the review, then we escalate it to be manually checked. 

Untitled

Thank you Lena.