🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » invitations to interview outside upwork platf...
Page options
adrianne63
Community Member

invitations to interview outside upwork platform

hello, all

My question is that I am new to Upwork, and have watched the Upwork 101 new freelancers video, I received an invitation to interview with an Upwork job posting, however, the response came thru my personal email with a link to go outside the platform to interview on Skype. Also posting a position with no payment verified.  So far I am still looking for the 1st position as a freelancer. Should I decline the invitation after responding but not accepting the interview just not to look bad? Even though the posting is not valid to my following Upwork protections? How do you know if the position is on the up and not scams that get accepted into the job platform? I appreciate your advice, 

Thank You,

Adrianne King

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
feed_my_eyes
Community Member

You watched the Upwork 101 video and they didn't tell you that it's against the Terms of Service to be interviewed off of Upwork before you have a contract? 

This is a scam. How do I know? 1. New freelancers don't get invitations from clients; that usually only occurs after you've established a good reputation here. 2. Wants to interview you on Skype. Upwork has a perfectly good messaging, calling and video conferencing system, so there's no need whatsoever for somebody to ask you to interview on Skype unless they're trying to scam you. 3. Unverified payment method. That's not a red flag by itself, but in combination with the other two things, it screams "definite scam".

Read this if you're still not sure how to recognise scams: https://community.upwork.com/t5/Community-Blog/Top-Red-Flags-for-Scams-From-Community-Member-Wes-C/b...

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
pgiambalvo
Community Member

Decline it, it is a scam. Also report them.