🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » is it OK for client to use Paypal for cost of...
Page options
dean_miller
Community Member

is it OK for client to use Paypal for cost of goods/materials.

Hi,

I'm new to Upwork. I submitted a proposal for a job posting. I received a message from the client. I responded back to him and now he has sent me an offer. It is a small simple job. I need to purchase a product to complete the job. He is to pay for it and wants to send me the funds prior to purchase using Paypal. He states:

"On your end, send me your ppal email and I’ll forward to you the cost of goods near your purchase date. I can also use upwork, however upwork says its fine to use ppal for cost of goods/materials."

Is this true? I have searched for the answer and it seems to be true as long as we have a contract in force. 

But, I don't want to break any rules. 

Thanks,

Dean

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

well - paying for the product via Upwork means product will cost 20% more - so that's why he  wants to pay it via paypal (or doesn't want to pay - I guess that remains to be seen)

trick is - you need to be paid through upwork system for everything...because UW doesn't want to lose 20%

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
m_sharman
Community Member

Nope, it's not ok and it's likely a scam.

jojomo
Community Member

Dean,

That sounds like a scam!!! Don't do it.

yitwail
Community Member

If a client wants to use PayPal they can order the product with PayPal and have it delivered to you, but paying you directly through PayPal violates TOS.

Dean M wrote:

Hi,

I'm new to Upwork. I submitted a proposal for a job posting. I received a message from the client. I responded back to him and now he has sent me an offer. It is a small simple job. I need to purchase a product to complete the job. He is to pay for it and wants to send me the funds prior to purchase using Paypal. He states: