🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » is this a scam?
Page options
sedec
Community Member

is this a scam?

hi, I'm new to upwork I only landed a job less than a week ago though my account was created almost 3 years ago. anyway my question is I received an offer for work I was surprised and flattered at first, so I proposed then I got a response and he asked me for my previous work but I don't yet have a very nice portfolio so when we are chatting in skype he asked me for a video call and then told me that he is going to send me some test to do and then that will be the deciding factor for me to get the job. My question is why me when I don't even have a JSS yet or a very nice portfolio..

3 REPLIES 3
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Melquisedec I wrote:

hi, I'm new to upwork I only landed a job less than a week ago though my account was created almost 3 years ago. anyway my question is I received an offer for work I was surprised and flattered at first, so I proposed then I got a response and he asked me for my previous work but I don't yet have a very nice portfolio so when we are chatting in skype he asked me for a video call and then told me that he is going to send me some test to do and then that will be the deciding factor for me to get the job. My question is why me when I don't even have a JSS yet or a very nice portfolio..

Who knows. He might be looking for free work, or for very cheap work. Don't give out personal information, and don't do any work without a contract, then you should be safe. 

g_vasilevski
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Hi Melquisedec,

Unfortunately I can`t answer your question as each client has their own recruiting process and preference.
I would like to confirm if you`re referring to the same contract that you were hired on February 27? If yes, there's nothing to worry about as I can see that you have tracked your time with our desktop app.